Quick enquiry
  • 2019 events

Super league clubs vote to remove super 8s

Rugby league clubs have voted by a two-thirds majority to scrap the Super 8s and return to a conventional promotion and relegation system from 2019.

The decision was reached at a Rugby Football League (RFL) extraordinary general meeting in Manchester. The Super 8s were introduced in 2015 and saw the top two tiers split into three groups at the end of each season to decide promotion and relegation.

However, a "one up, one down" system will be back in place from next season. Confirmation of the new structure brings to an end several months of battling among clubs, with 11 of the 12 current Super League teams - all except Leeds Rhinos - in support of the change.

There will be a home and away calendar for the 12-team Super League, plus six additional fixtures and the Magic Weekend - where a round of fixtures are all hosted at the same venue over two days. A five-team play-off series will then culminate in a Grand Final to crown the Super League champions at Old Trafford.

The Championship will expand to a 14-team competition in 2019, with a similar play-off system determining which team will be promoted to Super League the following season. Two teams will be promoted between the Championship and League One each season from 2019 onwards.


Web design by Brick technology Ltd.